About

I am in the process of creating this blog and it is very new to me.  Please be patient with me while I am developing my blogging skills.  I am going to be actively posting my thoughts at the same time I am learning how this works.  Also, I am totally open to any assistance, advice, and helpful tips. Thanks to all!

My husband is the most amazing man I have ever met.  We have been through things that many people in the world would have walked away from rather than enduring the difficulties of sticking it out through the storm.  I believe that divorce is the result of people choosing to take the easy way out and just walk away, rather than be strong enough to wait it out and endure the storms they must face to come out of a situation together.  I am very thankful we are one of those couples that love each other enough to make it out when times get tough.

A few months ago, he was diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer and I went to places of emotion that I never even knew were possible.  Acceptance of what fate brings to you is a very difficult process.  I have been searching for the answer to this question: “How do I cope and experience these emotions in a way that will keep me from drowning in them?”  My answer is here.  Blogging, writing, sharing,

25 comments on “About

  1. I completely agree about the divorce thing. Marriage has become… a commodity of late. Pisses me off. Good to find someone creative like me who still values REAL THINGS. My grandmother had colon cancer. It runs in my family.

    Our life is a huge painting.
    We cannot always tell what the painting is about because all we see are the individual colors.
    In time, the painting will be complete. 🙂

    Here’s a prayer that I use to help me through difficult times: the serenity prayer.

    “Lord, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

    God bless you and your family.

  2. Thanks for the like and the follow on just thinking you have some nice photos here. I am sorry to hear that you and your husband are batteling the beast cancer. Stay strong, it is hard but blogging will help. It helps sort the thoughts out.

  3. Oh Laura, thank you so much for following my blog. What an inspiration you are and it is truly an honor for me! I do hope my posts will assist you in some small way to remain as healthy as possible, fighting your cancer with a vengeance because God is NOT done with you yet! I pray you’ll feel free to comment or ask questions as they come up. Prayers and Blessings to you,

    PS Do you already know that simply looking at beautiful pictures such as your lighthouse, reduces stress and calms the soul? It’s great relaxation therapy. 🙂 I am so looking forward to getting to know you better!

  4. Nice reading about you Laura and sorry to hear about your husband
    read about me and revert back

    Thanks for following m my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may definitely find something of your interest.

  5. I think you will find a very welcoming and helping community now you made the decision to put yourself (and your life) out there. It might not make any of what you are going through easier to deal with but maybe it will be a refuge when you need to. Thank you for sharing

  6. Thanks for the follow! I really have enjoyed reading your blog and am interested in what you have in store for the future. Your inspirational with the trials you are going through.

  7. Writing is a wonderful tool to express emotion that you cannot voice… Writing seems to allow the head to clear a little and bring strength.. Comments from others help eith this.. I find when i sm writing a blog i am just focusing on that and nothing else… Like you I am learning so each blog takes ages!!!!

    • Thanks for the comment! I have always been afraid of expressing myself through writing! Now I have no fears. Just being me, which everyone should do! Thanks for reading!

  8. I only started my log at the end of February and it is a very new experience but it brings much joy… I also love everything that I have learnt from others … There is such talent and beauty in the blogs… Welcome …

  9. Hello Laura,thanks for following my blog. I too have colon cancer and was diagnosed 18 months ago.I hope the blog helps you to maintain a positive attitude as that is the single most important thing you can do.I wish you and your family all the best and never give up.

  10. Thank you so much for following our blog! We truly appreciate it. We lost someone very dear to us 7 years ago this month to cancer. We are praying for you and your husband. – IKB

    • There are not enough thank you’s I could give for your prayers. I am sorry to hear of your loss and will be praying for you as well. Much love. wishing you the best!

  11. Laura, its wonderful that you are reaching out (and in) like this at a time of crisis. My reaction to your posts? ‘coping with cancer’? No, don’t cope with cancer, FIGHT THE BUGGER! I had a stroke recently and was looking down the barrel of that particular gun. I’m sure some friends were wondering about funeral arrangements! We’re all going to die, full stop (not quite). But while there is one breath left, GO FOR IT – I’m on masses of raw fruit and vegetables (for example). There are many alternative therapies for these big bad diseases and they can give real hope of thriving… and actually enjoying a real quality of life – because after all, its the way we are living that is making us sick!! All strength and health to you and yours…

    • Thank you for your comment. Funerals is something I hate talking about, but it seems it must be brought up to some degree. Any alternative therapies are welcomed by all. I know my husband is tired of being sick from chemo. Please keep reading. I am honored l greatly by all of the support I am receiving. Thank you again. God Bless!!!

  12. Hey there Laura! You just started following my blog so I wanted to check out your blog and say, “Hi.” Cancer is something that scares the crap out of me, and here you are face-to-face with it and dealing with it every day. I feel for you girl! Unfortunately I don’t have any tips or advice for you, but I can offer support. If there is any way that I can support you, please let me know. By the way, your blog looks great! I’m so glad to meet you and I look forward to getting to know you better.

  13. You are a BRILLIANT wife! Never forget that – the bond you both have can never be unchained. Keep us posted on you, your husband, and everything else in between, especially as it helps you cope – the people that visit your page and follow you are a community of people who are here to help you through as well. You can count me in to follow you…

    Once again, well done!

    • I am very thankful for your compliments. I am very blessed to have found such a caring community to help me through this and I hope I reach out to others as well. I am happy to have you following my blog and supporting me through this. Thank you very much!!!

Leave a Reply

