Defining Grace

This is one of my questions.  However, Grace is a very very strong, powerful, and important word to me.  So, trying to define it myself deserves its own post in itself.

What is your definition of Grace?

My definition:

Grace is doing things with dignity, honor, beauty, even if you are coming across with harsh feelings.  The way you go about doing it must be done gracefully.  That is only one of my ways of defining Grace.  The other is religious.  This is the definition of Grace that I have a hard time understanding, yet an extreme desire to completely understand it in this way.  God’s Grace.  By the Grace of God.  Let God’s Grace shine upon you.  I feel like I understand it.  I just can’t explain it.  I feel that I have the Grace of God within me, in my soul, in my heart.  I feel I have been blessed with Grace that has been a gift God blessed me with.

Okay, so I’m looking on Wikipedia and I found a definition of Grace that satisfies my thoughts on defining Grace.

Divine Grace is a theological term present in many religions.  It had been defined as the divine influence which operates in humans to regenerate and sanctify, to inspire virtuous impulses, and to impart strength to endure trial and resist temptation; and as an individual virtue of divine excellence. (Wikipedia.org)

 

Obviously, I am getting deep into this.  After all, I named my daughter Grace for a reason.  Many reasons.  So, yes this definition is very important and empowering to my heart.

 

James Ryle has suggested “Grace is the empowering Presence of God enabling you to be who He created you to be, and to do what He has called you to do.” Alternatively Bill Gothard has suggested “Grace gives us the desire and the power that God gives us to do his will.”[4] Both of these definitions make good sense of the word grace throughout the Bible.(Wikipedia.org)

 

In the Old Testament, the Hebrew term used is chen [8][9] (חֵן), which is defined in Strong’s as “favor, grace or charm; grace is the moral quality of kindness, displaying a favorable disposition”.[10] In the King James translation, Chen is translated as “grace” 38 times, “favour” 26 times, twice as “gracious”,[11] once as “pleasant”,[12] and once as “precious”.[13] (Wikipedia.org)

 

Well, all of those definitions define what I feel Grace means.  Grace is not a term I can myself define with words, so I needed a little help.  But the above definitions satisfy the ways in which I would define Grace

 

2 comments on “Defining Grace

Leave a Reply

